Family Room After 3

Welcome!

Welcome to Seagrain Design! I’m Rachel, and I live in San Diego, CA with my boyfriend, Jason, and our two dogs, Kelbi and Captain. I love projects, and I’m always looking for ways to improve a space and make things more functional. A few months ago, I got fed up with the way things were in our family room. We had a small TV cabinet that didn’t hide any clutter, and there was too much orange and tan in the room:

Family Room Before 1

Family Room Before: Orange couch, tan curtains, orange mirror…

Family Room Before 2

Family Room Before: More orange…

So, I designed and built a new media console that would 1) better accommodate the stereo, 2) hide all the clutter that was visible before, and 3) provide more storage space – all while creating something that was more visually appealing.

Media Console

Media Console

Family Room Now

Family Room Now

It’s constructed mainly of poplar, with a birch plank top and shelf for contrast. I love the freshness that it brings to the room, and how much it brightens up the space.

Somewhere along the way, I realized that there were several other changes that I wanted to make to this room. Keeping budget in mind, I knew there were some changes that I could make now, and some that would have to wait. Ultimately, I would LOVE to get a new slipcover for the couch, hide the TV cables in the wall, paint the walls, add crown molding, and install ceiling lights. For now, I decided that a couple of simple updates that would make the biggest impact on the room would be replacing the curtains and swapping out the pillows to break up the orange of the couch.

Replacing the curtains and pillows gave way to some fun DIY projects, and hence Seagrain Design was born as way to share those projects (and many more) with you! I also hope to share more furniture builds, pet-friendly decorating tips, and plenty of inspiration. Be sure to subscribe for updates, follow along on Instagram and Pinterest, and stay tuned! Next week I’ll be sharing an awesome tutorial for DIY No-Sew Blackout Curtain Liners. In the mean time, feel free to contact me or leave a comment below if you have any questions! Thanks for reading!

~Rachel

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

