New beginnings spoon carving goals Seagrain Design

New Beginnings

I haven’t posted here in a while because my life has changed quite a lot in the last year and a half. Just as I was really getting into woodworking, (right after I finished the bathroom vanity project) my then boyfriend and I broke up and I moved out of the house we lived in and into an apartment temporarily. That meant I no longer had a garage, outdoor space, or the ability to use my tools. I was REALLY bummed. I had so many project plans and ideas, and no longer had a way to make any of them come to be. Last June, I moved again, into a studio apartment. I’m fortunate to have a balcony, but I’m still not able to use most of my tools due to noise. I’ve spent the last several months trying to figure out how I can continue with this hobby that I love. I’d been wanting to try my hand at spoon carving, and decided I would make my mom a spoon for Christmas, and I fell in love. There’s something about carving that’s so therapeutic. I’m also able to do a lot of the carving in my apartment, and cut the blanks on my scroll saw on my balcony. I’ve also been making a lot of baby teethers lately, since they don’t require loud tools. (If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve probably seen the spoons and teethers of late.) I can say that I’m finally at a place now where I’m excited for what’s to come, and have lots of plans and ideas for the future. Over the next few months, I’m planning on starting an Etsy store to sell spoons and kitchenware, making lots more teethers, and I just joined the San Diego Fine Woodworkers Association member shop so I can get back into making some furniture and larger items. I have plans to build a headboard for my bed, and a dresser to replace the Ikea one I currently have. I’m also going to post more interior design stuff, and do more virtual renovations on my blog. So, if any of this interests you, I’d be thrilled if you follow along. Thank you to those of you who have stuck around through my lack of posting, and if you’re still reading – I appreciate you! Cheers to new beginnings! ✌🏻

Seagrain Design Rachel Signature

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Judy Farrell says:

    Rachel, So sorry to hear your life got turned upside down. Hope you are doing well by now. Mike sends his warm regards. Hugs, Judy

    >

    Like

Leave a comment